Photography Exam – Final piece

This Piece was developed from my previous shoots of obscuring the face, such as then videos are shown on the news and then they sense out the people’s faces. This then started my research in to how you can change how the audience see the model and how they interpret the whole scene. This is then how I then started looking a different methods of obscuring the face, one of them was movement, for this I had the models lying down on the ground and took different stills  and moving photographs and photoshopped them together. From the photos I really like the shapes that the hair was creating on the grass and around the models face. This then made me want to do a moving image as that way would the best way that I could see, to be able to show this taking effect and seeing the movement of the hair and the effects that it has. I then tried this technique out in my test films to try and get a feel of how the hair would look and what I could do to it in order make it look more visually interesting. By watching the movement of the hair I was able to really see how the hair work and in how different techniques that would be good of a final film. And so for the final film shoot, the concept of the film was to try and change the shape of how you see the model as much as possible, in change to the form of the model and removing her face in order to show the research that I had gather from the being of the project. I wanted for the final film to seem to have a ” beginning, middle and end” and in order to do this I did it using the passing of the movement in the action that the model would be going with her hair, so it would start off slow and then build up to a climax by having the models movements very quick and sudden and longs of angels of movement, then to finish by having the movements slow right back down again. After taking lots of different films of each of the movements, I then edited them in to one film and started to cut the different parts up in order for me to start applying the different effects to the different parts of the film without affecting the whole thing. I then when about selecting different parts of the film  that  I wanted to be in reverse, as when I tested this effect, it really brought out the movement of the hair changing the way that the views saw the hair. This would be because it shows the movement of hair from a different prospective, so that the viewer subconscious no long registers it as hair and so tries to work out what it is but at the same time you viewer still knows that its hair, and thus the two ideas scramble together. An example of this happening is at the 1:50 minute mark were the models head starts to go up and down and the hair around the hair starts to look like its pulsating and in the viewer’s mind is stops becoming hair and starts to become something else that has a life of its own and is no longer part of the model. The reason for this could be because of the natural shapes that are being produced from the movement of the hair and they can be related in the viewer’s mind to things like jelly fish. Whereas if the shape was more unnatural and mechanical it wouldn’t have had the same effect and the audience wouldn’t start to question it. After I fished reversing the film clips, I then started to work on part of the film that would be spend up or slowed down. I wanted to use this technique so that the film stops being natural and also adds something a little more visual interesting. This technique would start to creep out the viewers and add a feeling of unease to the film which would not have been there before, this also links back to my occultism research that I did at the start of the project. This is because the sudden changes of movement that humans usually see happening would be the times when speed would be neassery, example of this is when someone or something is in danger and  the human would have to change speeds in order to save him/her self or save some thing or somebody. These movements would kindle these feeling in the viewer and thus creating a sense of unease, not to mention that the speed that the model is speeding up to and slowing down to are also very unnatural and just that change of nature would have that effect in on the viewer’s mind. Then On to the styling of the video with the way it was presented, for the composition I wanted to create something that would make the view more focused on the hair and the model so I took inspiration from Nick knight and reflected the images, also this way it creates new shapes from the body’s movement. Finally when I was picking the music I really wanted to have something that get a creepy feel but without sounding to much like I had taken it from a horror film. I decided that I wanted to go from sometime that was operatic as I then has the connotations of refinement and something unknown.

Leave a comment